![]() |
| If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. |
|
|||||||
| UK Finance (uk.finance) Discussion about Finance issues in the UK. |
| Tags: doing, email, lloydstsb, rounds, spoof |
|
|
Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
please confirm your details...
yes right. |
| Ads |
|
#2
|
|||
|
|||
|
In400metreskeepright wrote:
please confirm your details... yes right. I'm surprised you haven't had one before, and also from other pseudo companies. They seem to be part of the scenery nowadays. What I find odd is that warnings that are given regarding visiting these sites do not tell you to look at the URL in the address bar. If it's not a genuine site the URL will look unusual, suspicious, and probably from another country. Never will it look like, e.g. LloydsTSB.com. Rob Graham |
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
"Robin Graham" wrote in message ... In400metreskeepright wrote: please confirm your details... yes right. I'm surprised you haven't had one before, and also from other pseudo companies. They seem to be part of the scenery nowadays. What I find odd is that warnings that are given regarding visiting these sites do not tell you to look at the URL in the address bar. If it's not a genuine site the URL will look unusual, suspicious, and probably from another country. Never will it look like, e.g. LloydsTSB.com. It's easier just to tell people not to click on links in emails. If you tell them to examine the URL they need to know exacty what their looking for - a dodgy URL could easily include lloydstsb.com eg http://www.lloydstsb.com.xxx.ru/update/ -- Andy |
|
#4
|
|||
|
|||
|
"Robin Graham" wrote in message ... In400metreskeepright wrote: please confirm your details... yes right. I'm surprised you haven't had one before, and also from other pseudo companies. They seem to be part of the scenery nowadays. What I find odd is that warnings that are given regarding visiting these sites do not tell you to look at the URL in the address bar. If it's not a genuine site the URL will look unusual, suspicious, and probably from another country. Never will it look like, e.g. LloydsTSB.com. Rob Graham I've had them from many other banks but this is the first I've seen from LLoydsTSB. |
|
#5
|
|||
|
|||
|
Andy Pandy wrote:
"Robin Graham" wrote in message ... In400metreskeepright wrote: please confirm your details... yes right. I'm surprised you haven't had one before, and also from other pseudo companies. They seem to be part of the scenery nowadays. What I find odd is that warnings that are given regarding visiting these sites do not tell you to look at the URL in the address bar. If it's not a genuine site the URL will look unusual, suspicious, and probably from another country. Never will it look like, e.g. LloydsTSB.com. It's easier just to tell people not to click on links in emails. If you tell them to examine the URL they need to know exacty what their looking for - a dodgy URL could easily include lloydstsb.com eg http://www.lloydstsb.com.xxx.ru/update/ -- Andy Sure, but then there's the giveaway at the end. Rob |
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
|
In message , Robin Graham
writes In400metreskeepright wrote: please confirm your details... yes right. I'm surprised you haven't had one before, and also from other pseudo companies. They seem to be part of the scenery nowadays. They clutter my mailbox. What I find odd is that warnings that are given regarding visiting these sites do not tell you to look at the URL in the address bar. If it's not a genuine site the URL will look unusual, suspicious, and probably from another country. Never will it look like, e.g. LloydsTSB.com. Rob Graham Kaspersky monitors incoming mail for known "phishing" sites and flags them, as well as reporting Trojan content before downloading. A fair proportion of the pseudo banking emails have payloads... Click on any "links" if you want infecting. :-( -- Gordon H Remove "invalid" to reply |
|
#7
|
|||
|
|||
|
In message , Robin Graham
wrote What I find odd is that warnings that are given regarding visiting these sites do not tell you to look at the URL in the address bar. If it's not a genuine site the URL will look unusual, suspicious, and probably from another country. Never will it look like, e.g. LloydsTSB.com. A lot of credit card "security" pages look like Phishing sites with a URL containing a sting of random characters. -- Alan news2009 {at} admac {dot} myzen {dot} co {dot} uk |
|
#8
|
|||
|
|||
|
In400metreskeepright wrote:
I've had them from many other banks but this is the first I've seen from LLoydsTSB. I get a lot of Lloyds TSB ones. I guess this is because they don't have two factor authentication like some of the other banks, so it is easier to break in to. |
|
#9
|
|||
|
|||
|
"Jonathan Bryce" wrote in message ... In400metreskeepright wrote: I've had them from many other banks but this is the first I've seen from LLoydsTSB. I get a lot of Lloyds TSB ones. I guess this is because they don't have two factor authentication like some of the other banks, so it is easier to break in to. I have a User ID, Password and then 3 factor entry. for my LloydsTSB |
|
#10
|
|||
|
|||
|
"Jonathan Bryce" wrote
I get a lot of Lloyds TSB ones. I guess this is because they don't have two factor authentication like some of the other banks, so it is easier to break in to. "In400metreskeepright" wrote I have a User ID, Password and then 3 factor entry. for my LloydsTSB 3 factor? 1 : Something(s) you *know* (eg security details), 2 : Something(s) you *have* (eg a dongle producing a number), 3 : what is the third type for your LloydsTSB? |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|